Technical Articles

How many categories and standards make up IEC 62443?

IEC 62443 is a comprehensive set of cybersecurity standards designed specifically for industrial automation and control systems (IACS). It provides guidelines and best practices to secure these critical infrastructure systems from various cyber threats. The IEC 62443 series is divided into several categories and standards that address different aspects of cybersecurity. Let's explore how this important standard is organized.

Organizational Structure of IEC 62443

IEC 62443 consists of four main categories, each focusing on a specific area of cybersecurity for IACS. These categories are:

General Concepts and Models (Part 1): This category establishes the foundational concepts, terminology, and models required to understand the other parts of IEC 62443. It defines the key principles, risk assessment methods, and overall system architecture.

Policies and Procedures (Part 2): Part 2 covers the establishment and implementation of policies and procedures related to IACS cybersecurity. It addresses topics such as the development of cybersecurity management systems, security awareness, training, and incident response.

System Components (Part 3): This category focuses on the security requirements and protocols for individual components of IACS, including network devices, controllers, and software applications. It outlines the technical measures needed to protect these components from unauthorized access or manipulation.

System Security Requirements and Technology Levels (Part 4): Part 4 defines the requirements and criteria for achieving different levels of security in IACS. It introduces the concept of "technology levels" that categorize systems based on their capability to resist cyber attacks. This part provides guidance on selecting appropriate security measures based on the level of protection required.

Additional Standards

In addition to these four categories, the IEC 62443 series also includes several additional standards that complement and expand upon the main parts. Some of these standards focus on specific industry sectors or specialized technical aspects of IACS cybersecurity.

For example, IEC 62443-2-1 provides guidance specifically for the process sector, addressing topics like alarm management and patch management. IEC 62443-3-3 focuses on the security requirements and practices related to system integration in the oil and gas industry. These additional standards ensure the applicability and adaptability of IEC 62443 across different industries and technical contexts.


The organizational structure of IEC 62443 clearly defines the categories and standards that make up this comprehensive cybersecurity framework for IACS. By providing a structured approach to securing industrial automation systems, IEC 62443 helps organizations mitigate cyber risks and safeguard critical infrastructure from potential threats. Adhering to the guidelines and best practices outlined in IEC 62443 ensures the resilience and reliability of IACS in an increasingly digitized world.



Contact: Nina She

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code