Technical Articles

What is BS EN 12600 glass

BS EN 12600 is a European standard that specifies the classification, requirements, and test methods for impact safety for glass in buildings. It sets out the criteria for determining the behavior of glass when subjected to impact, ensuring the protection of building occupants and minimizing the risk of injury from broken glass. In this article, we will explore the key aspects of BS EN 12600 glass and its significance in the construction industry.

Classification of BS EN 12600 glass

BS EN 12600 glass is classified into different performance categories based on its survivability against impact. These categories include P1A, P2A, P3A, and P4A, with each category representing varying levels of impact resistance. The classification scheme evaluates both the frontal impact resistance and the integrity of the glass after impact, helping builders and architects choose the most appropriate glass for their specific applications.

Requirements for BS EN 12600 glass

BS EN 12600 glass must meet certain requirements to ensure its safety and performance. One crucial requirement is the glass thickness, which influences its impact resistance. Thicker glass tends to have higher impact resistance, but it also adds weight and cost to the construction project. Other requirements include the maximum permissible deformations of the glass and the retention of fragments after impact. These standards help to prevent shards of glass from causing severe injuries or falling from elevated areas.

Testing methods for BS EN 12600 glass

Various testing methods are employed to determine the compliance of glass with the BS EN 12600 standard. One common method is the pendulum impactor test, where a weighted pendulum swings into the glass sample under controlled conditions. The energy absorbed by the glass upon impact is measured, allowing the classification of the glass according to its level of impact resistance. These tests provide objective and standardized results, ensuring that BS EN 12600 glass meets the required safety standards.

In conclusion, BS EN 12600 glass is a specialized type of glass that undergoes rigorous testing to ensure its impact resistance. By adhering to the classification, requirements, and testing methods outlined in the BS EN 12600 standard, builders and architects can select appropriate glass for their projects. This ensures the safety of occupants and reduces the risk of injury from broken glass. As the construction industry continues to prioritize safety, BS EN 12600 glass plays a vital role in creating secure and durable buildings.



Contact: Nina She

Phone: +86-13751010017


Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeclose
the qr code