Home > Technical Articles

How many security levels are defined in OT security architecture as per IEC 62443 ?

Level 0: No Security

At this level, no specific security measures are implemented, leaving the system extremely vulnerable to attacks. It is essential to progress beyond this level to ensure the safety and integrity of the OT environment.

Level 1: Basic Security

At this level, basic security measures such as access control and encryption are implemented. However, these measures are not sufficient to protect against advanced cyber threats.

Level 2: Security Platform

At this level, a security platform with multiple security functions is implemented. This includes firewalls, intrusion detection and prevention systems, and encryption.

Level 3: Security Management

At this level, a comprehensive security management system is implemented. This includes all the security functions from Level 1 and Level 2, as well as providing a centralized platform for managing security policies and procedures.

Level 4: Application Control

At this level, application-level security controls are implemented. This includes controls on network traffic, application access, and data modification.

Level 5: Data Management

At this level, data management controls are implemented to ensure the integrity and confidentiality of sensitive data.


In conclusion, IEC 62443 provides a framework for implementing various security levels in OT security architecture to safeguard industrial control systems from cyber threats. By implementing one or more of the security levels defined in the standard, organizations can reduce the risk of data breaches, cyber attacks, and other security incidents.


Contact: Nina She

Phone: +86-13751010017

Tel: +86-755-33168386

Email: sales@china-gauges.com

Add: 1F Junfeng Building, Gongle, Xixiang, Baoan District, Shenzhen, Guangdong, China

Scan the qr codeClose
the qr code